Homelink

All your ordering information here!
smithy37
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: Homelink

Post by smithy37 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:01 pm

I like geeky things too & your solution sounds interesting. Not sure how I could live with that on a garage door as I won’t always want to drive straight in.
The electric side of all what I’ve done was a breeze. Even without instructions for my current garage door. It’s just pairing the buttons that is foxing me. One things for certain. I will get it working!!
Cayenne Turbo (E3):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PKZ1C4D3
Collected end of April 18

Sold in 2018 - Macan Turbo (15):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PFHCRLI8


User avatar
Guy
Posts: 1315
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:06 am
Location: Shropshire

Re: Homelink

Post by Guy » Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:05 pm

Can you put Homelink on the diamond button? I can imagine that the buttons on the roof panel are a bity tricky to locate.


smithy37
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: Homelink

Post by smithy37 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:56 am

Guy wrote:
Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:05 pm
Can you put Homelink on the diamond button? I can imagine that the buttons on the roof panel are a bity tricky to locate.
I don’t think so as the homelink buttons are three individual buttons whereas the diamond button is only physically one. I need two buttons (up and down) of the three.
Cayenne Turbo (E3):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PKZ1C4D3
Collected end of April 18

Sold in 2018 - Macan Turbo (15):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PFHCRLI8


smithy37
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: Homelink

Post by smithy37 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:11 am

Well, tried everything & still can’t get it to work.
Tempted to try the homelink helpline, even if it is a premium rate international number.
Failing that I’ll speak to the service department. Left messages for my SA at the OPC and he isn’t returning them so I am guessing he has washed his hands of me.
Cayenne Turbo (E3):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PKZ1C4D3
Collected end of April 18

Sold in 2018 - Macan Turbo (15):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PFHCRLI8


User avatar
IainSmith
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:05 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Homelink

Post by IainSmith » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:16 am

I went through this about a year ago, I was also told my new garage door receiver was compatible, yet it actually wasn't when it came to coding the car against it..

what I ended up doing was purchasing one of these. https://www.easygates.co.uk/product_inf ... ductID=600 which works with the in-car Porsche Homelink buttons. I wired this to the original door receiver on the wall (I wired it into the socket option as a wired remote).

On my wife's car I also bought one of these. https://www.easygates.co.uk/product_inf ... ductID=828 and coded that to the universal homelink receiver on the link above.. its been working perfectly ever since


smithy37
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: Homelink

Post by smithy37 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:34 pm

IainSmith wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:16 am
I went through this about a year ago, I was also told my new garage door receiver was compatible, yet it actually wasn't when it came to coding the car against it..

what I ended up doing was purchasing one of these. https://www.easygates.co.uk/product_inf ... ductID=600 which works with the in-car Porsche Homelink buttons. I wired this to the original door receiver on the wall (I wired it into the socket option as a wired remote).

On my wife's car I also bought one of these. https://www.easygates.co.uk/product_inf ... ductID=828 and coded that to the universal homelink receiver on the link above.. its been working perfectly ever since
That is what I’ve bought Iain (not the visor clip).
I’ve spent a couple of hours on the phone to Homelink & basically got no where other than run up one mega phone bill.
My SA isn’t returning my calls so I’m a day away from escalating this. I specified it on the car for a reason. I am trying to pair it to like for like Homelink equipment yet the car won’t sync the rolling code.

I bought a universal transmitter key fob & that pairs first time with the Homelink receiver so I am adamant the fault is car side.

I thought being the first into a brand new model was a good thing. I am now experiencing the bad side of being an early adopter. :oops:
Cayenne Turbo (E3):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PKZ1C4D3
Collected end of April 18

Sold in 2018 - Macan Turbo (15):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PFHCRLI8


Wilpert
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:55 pm
Location: London

Re: Homelink

Post by Wilpert » Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:29 pm

I've bought a used Macan that has Homelink, I have electric gates that I operate with a fob.
I tried to pair it to make it work and I cant, GGGGRRRR its annoying, i was really excited about using the Homelink.
i didnt buy the car because it had this, it just happened to be part of the spec but it would be good if I could get it to work.


User avatar
Old Timer
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:49 pm

Re: Homelink

Post by Old Timer » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:10 pm

IMO Homelink is a waste of money. It is the one option on my McCann that I would never specify again. To programme each garage door I had to set up the garage door opener, then climb down the ladder, get inside the car, press the correct Homelink button, then to the front of the car, set up the car's Homelink and all without the systems timing me out.
Homelink buttons that are supposed to operate different electrical things, only one reliably works.

Don't bother.
DS delivered 30th September 2016. Final spec code PHFK81G7.


smithy37
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:27 pm

Re: Homelink

Post by smithy37 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:48 am

I agree this is a frustrating situation, especially when you know you have compatible equipment.
Wiring this into an old garage door unit with no instruction manual should have been the hard part, not pairing a remote.
I have it booked to go into the dealer on the 26th of July. I am taking my stand alone box with the car as you can see the led lights & the relays click when using the universal remote I have. This should be enough to diagnose the issues. My gut feeling is software, not hardware, but time will tell.

I’m like a dog with a bone and won’t let this go until I have it working.

I’ll let you know what happens.
Cayenne Turbo (E3):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PKZ1C4D3
Collected end of April 18

Sold in 2018 - Macan Turbo (15):
http://www.porsche-code.com/PFHCRLI8


Post Reply

Return to “Order Forum”