2.9 V6 Gen 3 S and GTS Engine Tuning?

All Porsche Macan Related Discussion
Dannyp

Post by Dannyp »

Hi
Are the engines on both models exactly the same?
I'm wondering whether the extra power on the GTS is mainly due to tuning/re-mapping?
If that's the case, aren't people likely to "chip" the S?
I've seen ads which claim huge BHP and torque increases - together with improved MPG.
... Too good to be true?

I'm sure the S will be plenty powerful for me - but I do like the prospect of increased torque and MPG :-)

What do the experts think??? :-)

Deleted User 4436

Post by Deleted User 4436 »

As I understand it they are exactly the same engine with different mapping.
Dannyp

Post by Dannyp »

There is a respectable looking company offering a 46% torque increase and 501 BHP. This does sound a bit extreme for me, but I wonder whether it could be "toned down" to just increase the torque and match the GTS BHP?
As is probably obvious, I'm no expert (or road racer), but it does seem worth exploring.
I've also seen claims of increased MPG ...
bennachie

Post by bennachie »

Try running that past the OPC if there is a warranty issue..........................
'The secret of life is enjoying the passage of time'
Dannyp

Post by Dannyp »

... "aye - there's the rub" :-)
Deleted User 4436

Post by Deleted User 4436 »