Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Technical Forum for the Porsche Macan
User avatar
SAC1
Posts: 888
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 8:24 pm
Location: near BATH

Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by SAC1 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:21 am

It seems that you learn something new almost every day with the Macan.

Here I was checking the tyre pressure monitor on the small right dial. I scroll through the menu regularly when driving. This TP display only gives indicative tyre pressures though, as temperatures / cornering load actually influences the displayed readings during / straight after a run.

This time though I pressed the RIGHT steering wheel scroll button, by mistake! and found that it then shows whether a tyre(s) need inflating or even reducing the pressure in real time. FILL INFO. Prior to this you have options to enter / change - part or full load, the wheel size and whether summer or winter tyres fitted. :D Wonderful stuff:

TP fill.PNG

I then did the obvious and checked the manual, in this case the USA on-line version. This is where the photo posted here was sourced.

I made the relevant adjustments, mine were all 0.2 bar over-inflated! Leaving the engine on, I could check the results on the dial as i made the individual adjustments - as well as using my hand held pressure gauge. Later I checked again with my hand gauge when the tyres were all fully cold and they were spot on. As an ex-tyre man this is a revelation and so useful. :idea: :ugeek:
Last edited by SAC1 on Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.


User avatar
Paul
Posts: 7073
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:19 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by Paul » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:23 am

👍
Good spot! (I was wondering what to do this afternoon; now I can go and play in the car AND justify it to Mrs P!)
1st Sapphire Blue SD
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=1986

Current Sapphire GTS
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=4296


User avatar
ScotMac
Posts: 3852
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:39 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by ScotMac » Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:57 pm

Every day is an education day :D :D :D

I'll try this later .........


User avatar
Ray G
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:45 am

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by Ray G » Thu Dec 06, 2018 1:45 pm

Very useful, thanks!
Current: Macan SD Volcano Grey
Previous: Cayenne SD then Cayenne S


ricardoespana
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:55 am

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by ricardoespana » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:58 pm

Doesn't the left scroll button just mute the stereo if you press it?
SAC1 wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:21 am
It seems that you learn something new almost every day with the Macan.

Here I was checking the tyre pressure monitor on the small right dial. I scroll through the menu regularly when driving. This TP display only gives indicative tyre pressures though, as temperatures / cornering load actually influences the displayed readings during / straight after a run.

This time though I pressed the left steering wheel scroll button, by mistake! and viola found that it then shows whether a tyre(s) need inflating or even reducing the pressure in real time. FILL INFO. Prior to this you have options to enter / change - part or full load, the wheel size and whether summer or winter tyres fitted. :D Wonderful stuff:

TP fill.PNG

I then did the obvious and checked the manual, in this case the USA on-line version. This is where the photo posted here was sourced.

I made the relevant adjustments, mine were all 0.2 bar over-inflated! Leaving the engine on, I could check the results on the dial as i made the individual adjustments - as well as using my hand held pressure gauge. Later I checked again with my hand gauge when the tyres were all fully cold and they were spot on. As an ex-tyre man this is a revelation and so useful. :idea: :ugeek:


User avatar
Guy
Posts: 1474
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:06 am
Location: Shropshire

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by Guy » Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:01 pm

ricardoespana wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:58 pm
Doesn't the left scroll button just mute the stereo if you press it?
I assumed that he meant 'right' scroll button :?


Nuclear Nick
Posts: 1769
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:42 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by Nuclear Nick » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:40 pm

You all ought to be ashamed of yourselves, owning up to not knowing this! :lol: RTFM!

(And Paul/Ferdie - there’s no need to mention my low pressure alarm at the top of that alpine pass, it was nothing to do with this! :oops: )
Nick

Macan Turbo, collected 6/9/16 - http://www.porsche-code.com/PHPDB6Z7

911 C2 GTS, collected 8/3/18 - http://www.porsche-code.com/PJKUPBX8


User avatar
SAC1
Posts: 888
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 8:24 pm
Location: near BATH

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by SAC1 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:26 pm

Guy wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:01 pm
ricardoespana wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:58 pm
Doesn't the left scroll button just mute the stereo if you press it?
I assumed that he meant 'right' scroll button :?
Sorry yes the RIGHT scroll button - now corrected on my original post.


User avatar
Paul
Posts: 7073
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:19 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by Paul » Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:47 pm

(and it will only work with car stationary...)
1st Sapphire Blue SD
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=1986

Current Sapphire GTS
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=4296


User avatar
ScotMac
Posts: 3852
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:39 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Tyre pressures - how to "Fill info"

Post by ScotMac » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:19 pm

I'm away to try it ..... :D :D :D


Post Reply

Return to “Issues & Technical”