Which grade Diesel

Engine, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Issues and Fixes
peter7

Post by peter7 »

I am quite new to Macan ownership ( 1200 miles ) so I have filled up a couple of times now , I always used Shell V power in the 911 and have used the V power in the Macan . I just wondered what other people’s thoughts and habits are concerning Diesel in their Macan’s .

Peter

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Macan S Agate grey 2014 one of the original press cars

Nuclear Nick

Post by Nuclear Nick »

peter7 wrote: Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:15 am I am quite new to Macan ownership ( 1200 miles ) so I have filled up a couple of times now , I always used Shell V power in the 911 and have used the V power in the Macan . I just wondered what other people’s thoughts and habits are concerning Diesel in their Macan’s
Since switching to V Power diesel in our Yeti some years ago it has run quieter and smoother so I would recommend you stick to premium diesel in your Macan. You are less likely to suffer the dreaded DPF issues that others have although avoiding frequent short trips is more important.

The subject of which fuel to use has been done to death on here before now and, like running in and winter tyres, attracts reams of bias, prejudice and cynicism. But a little further reading from reliable sources elsewhere will often better inform your decision.
Nick

Defender 90 V8

991.2 C2 GTS

Macan Turbo - sold

BMW K1300S, BMW R1250 GSA
SAC1

Post by SAC1 »

I have used BP Ultimate [premium grade] diesel since my Macan SD was new in May 2017. I've never had a DPF warning and the car's performance has been excellent power delivery wise.

As an aside its also needed just one AdBlue fill up in July 2018. It had the 1st service in May 2019 and the AdBlue was probably topped up then, but I wasn't charged for it. Its now covered 18,000 miles to date at an average of 36 mpg.
Steve

2020 GTS in Sapphire Blue
(sold) 2017 SD in Rhodium Silver
Kleynie

Post by Kleynie »