Kufatec Speed Limit Indicator Retrofit

Audio, Navigation, Electronic Issues and Fixes
Post Reply
mschaffl
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:19 pm

Kufatec Speed Limit Indicator Retrofit

Post by mschaffl » Fri Aug 02, 2019 10:28 am

After I baught my Macan S Diesel I wanted to retrofit the speed limit indicator.
Two years ago I asked at my local Porsche Center if they can do that. The answer was: no, since in my car there is no high resolution camera installed.

Last month I found the products of company Kufatec, located in Germany.
They offer a dongle with which gains to activate the speed limit indicator. See this link.

I contacted their support, told them my VIN and asked them if this would work for my car.
They confirmed that a highres camera is built into my car because of PDLS+ and lane keep assist.

So I ordered the product, dared to install it and ... IT WORKS :lol:
I am really happy.

Kufatec also offers a dongle with which you can disable start/stop and retrofit of backup camera.


User avatar
Guy
Posts: 1668
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:06 am
Location: Buckinghamshire

Re: Kufatec Speed Limit Indicator Retrofit

Post by Guy » Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:32 pm

Interesting. I presume that you just connect it for long enough to download the settings and then the car retains them (rather than leaving it connected to the OBDII??)

If the former, it must also be VIN-specific code, otherwise you could simply sell your OBD 'dongle' on to another forum member!


mschaffl
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Kufatec Speed Limit Indicator Retrofit

Post by mschaffl » Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:50 pm

Guy wrote:
Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:32 pm
Interesting. I presume that you just connect it for long enough to download the settings and then the car retains them (rather than leaving it connected to the OBDII??)
Exactly, a led indicates when programming has finished, then you can disconnect. Programming takes about 15 seconds, after that you have to switch ignition off and lock the car for 15 minutes (shut down control units). After that it works. Correspoding menu structure of the board computer is changed, behaves just as described in the Macan manual.

I guess that they store the VIN at the device so that it cannot be reused.


Kleynie
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 11:50 am

Re: Kufatec Speed Limit Indicator Retrofit

Post by Kleynie » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:25 pm

I have lane keeping assist and PDLS+ as well as active cruise, so I would assume this will work on mine also. Its one of the few options my car is missing.

Thanks for the info.
2017 Macan SD in Volcano with full black leather. Air, PASM, sports exhaust, pano roof, Sports Chrono, 18 way seats, BOSE and more


Kleynie
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 11:50 am

Re: Kufatec Speed Limit Indicator Retrofit

Post by Kleynie » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:48 pm

Does this give you the speed limits in the Right hand dial/display? I noticed today that I have speed limits shown on the map of the touch screen, I assume this isn’t the same thing?
2017 Macan SD in Volcano with full black leather. Air, PASM, sports exhaust, pano roof, Sports Chrono, 18 way seats, BOSE and more


mschaffl
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Kufatec Speed Limit Indicator Retrofit

Post by mschaffl » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:19 am

Kleynie wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:48 pm
Does this give you the speed limits in the Right hand dial/display? I noticed today that I have speed limits shown on the map of the touch screen, I assume this isn’t the same thing?
Yes, once installed, you can configure speed limits to be shown in the little dial/display as an overlay. The limits in the large screen then are not displayed any more. What you see currently are "just" the limits stored in the map data.


Post Reply

Return to “Electronics and In Car Entertainment”