Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Audio, Navigation, Electronic Issues and Fixes
User avatar
Wing Commander
Posts: 10042
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:43 pm
Location: Swindon

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by Wing Commander » Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:01 pm

Yep, or any trip through a town should let you see if things go back to normal in a more built up area.
Sold: 2016 Rhodium Silver Macan 2.0
Sold: 2013 Platinum Silver 911 (991.1) C2
Mine: 2017 Carmine Red Panamera 4 http://www.porsche-code.com/PJPWMYE2


User avatar
CharlesElliott
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 9:11 pm

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by CharlesElliott » Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:49 am

Unfocused background screen.......do you have Google maps satellite view switched on?
Macan GTS: PH1UFLL8


User avatar
microbe
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:15 pm
Location: Mid Sussex

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by microbe » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:22 am

CharlesElliott wrote:
Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:49 am
Unfocused background screen.......do you have Google maps satellite view switched on?
I really don't know. I really need my wife to drive the car so that I can fiddle with the display. She is unwilling to when I am driving. Perhaps I will go out and see if I can do anything with the car stationary
Porsche Macan S - www.porsche-code.com/PHH2H4S9


User avatar
VanB
Posts: 1728
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by VanB » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:41 am

If you have google earth switched on and you're in a really poor wifi area this would lead to the symptoms you describe as your car can't download the detail for the maps. Try turning the google earth overlay off and it should revert to the built in display


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MY 2017 Macan GTS, Night Blue, Black Spyders, AS, SC, Bose, Nav, Connect +, LED PDLS+ etc.


User avatar
Caster
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 5:43 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by Caster » Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:16 pm

Could try turning the right hand dial/knob anti-clockwise to get more area/info on map screen so less background etc. If you're on say the 100yd scale probably will be mainly a grey background unless in a town or something.
Final Code (updated to latest configurator!) :D


User avatar
microbe
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:15 pm
Location: Mid Sussex

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by microbe » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:07 pm

I have now returned home and the screen was fine which confirms that very rural areas give the washed out display I asked about. It also looks as though the fuzziness was caused by either heavy rain/mist or poor Google earth reception. I also discovered for the first time how to alter a lot of the defaults by pressing the opt button.
Porsche Macan S - www.porsche-code.com/PHH2H4S9


User avatar
Sidscott
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by Sidscott » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:42 pm

The top of my map screen is sometimes blank like there is an horizon.. anybody else had this problem?


User avatar
Semerka
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:50 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by Semerka » Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:48 pm

Sidscott wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:42 pm
The top of my map screen is sometimes blank like there is an horizon.. anybody else had this problem?
Could be the 3D view mode?
- Macan Turbo in Night Blue with Black Leather & Carbon interior (current)
- Cayman GTS (981) in Carmine Red (current)

- Macan S Diesel in Volcano Grey with Garnet Red seats (gone)


User avatar
Sidscott
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by Sidscott » Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:49 pm

Semerka wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:48 pm
Sidscott wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:42 pm
The top of my map screen is sometimes blank like there is an horizon.. anybody else had this problem?
Could be the 3D view mode?
Yes, Is this normal for 3D view then? It looks like the top of the screen is blank not used it before.


User avatar
Semerka
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:50 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Do I have a problem with Sat nav

Post by Semerka » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:13 pm

Sidscott wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:49 pm
Semerka wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:48 pm
Sidscott wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:42 pm
The top of my map screen is sometimes blank like there is an horizon.. anybody else had this problem?
Could be the 3D view mode?
Yes, Is this normal for 3D view then? It looks like the top of the screen is blank not used it before.
I will test it tonight, but vaguely remember that it happens in 3D view, but I might remember it from using the older, pre-January 2016 PCM.
- Macan Turbo in Night Blue with Black Leather & Carbon interior (current)
- Cayman GTS (981) in Carmine Red (current)

- Macan S Diesel in Volcano Grey with Garnet Red seats (gone)


Post Reply

Return to “Electronics and In Car Entertainment”


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest