WiFi hotspot - please explain

Audio, Navigation, Electronic Issues and Fixes
adam b

Post by adam b »

So I didn’t think I was a complete tech numpty but my new Turbo has stuff I have never used before

Synced my phone up with the WiFi so now how does this work?

I assume it takes my 4G signal from the phone and turns it into a WiFi spot that others can use in the car.

Does it amplify the 4G signal?
I have limited data on my phone contract (4gb per month) so if passengers connect to the WiFi spot is everyone using my data allowance?
2017 - Macan Turbo, with most of the toys (sold)
2008 - manual 997.1 Turbo (sold)

Tom 2000

Post by Tom 2000 »

I thought it was the other way around. That the car has a data sim and that connects to the www. The option isn’t in mine, sorry.
Macan SD Vocano Grey. LEDs, Pano Roof, PSE, Sports Chrono, PASM, Sports Design Mirrors, 21" Sports Classics in Black, lots of other extras.
http://www.porsche-code.com/PJ2XHAR5 for the day that this works again.

987 Boxster 2.7 (2006)
Col Lamb

Post by Col Lamb »

The WiFi hotspot that can be created within the Macan is there so that passengers can connect to it and browse the Internet.

The inbuilt signal booster in the car is supposed to give a stronger faster connection than just using 3G/4G on a mobile.

Do remember that the infotainment system inside a Macan is at least 5 years old so it is a bit old tech now.
Col
Macan Turbo
Air, 20” wheels, ACC, Pano, SurCam, 14w, LEDs, PS+, Int Light Pack, Heated seats and Steering, spare wheel, SC, Privacy glass, PDK gear, SD mirrors, Met Black, rear airbags
Nuclear Nick

Post by Nuclear Nick »

Tom 2000 wrote: Fri May 31, 2019 11:21 pm I thought it was the other way around. That the car has a data sim and that connects to the www. The option isn’t in mine, sorry.